FAQ Schools Take Root

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (2022)

The Schools Take Root project provides establishments (schools, childcare centres and organizations) with an original way to raise funds through selling baskets of organic, local vegetables grown by a local farm belonging to the Family Farmers Network.

In addition to helping your establishment raise funds, the campaign is an opportunity for you to encourage local farmers by purchasing produce grown close to home. Schools Take Root also provides a unique opportunity to teach youth and their families about the benefits of eating healthy, local and organic food! 

 

The first thing to do, before registering for the project, is to obtain the support of your establishment’s administrators. The key to a successful Schools Take Root fundraising campaign is to rally your establishment’s community around the project. It’s also important to identify a contact person who can coordinate the campaign within your establishment. This person will play a key role, with four main responsibilities:

  1. Oversee campaign logistics thanks to the new order management platform;
  2. Ensure communication between Family Farmers Network, the establishment and families;
  3. Mobilize the establishment’s community around the project
  4. Participate in the evaluation of the campaign

Once you have the support of administrators and a campaign coordinator, you can register for the Schools Take Root campaign on Family Farmers Network website.

 

March to June

Unlike a seasonal subscription to the Family Farmer Network, there is only one delivery of the organic baskets sold as part of the Schools Take Root campaign. The baskets are normally delivered in fall (October or November).

If you would like to get organic vegetable baskets every week, you can register with the Family Farmers Network map.

 

Each basket costs $32 and has a value of $25.

Online payment is offered to all establishments to facilitate their management of the campaign. This service is offered for a fixed, minimum fee.* For each basket sold, the farm receives $23, the establishment receives either $7 or $5.77 (if it uses the online payment service), and the Family Farmers Network receives $2 for the administration of the program.

*This fixed fee is established by the banking system (2.9% + C$0.30 per transaction, or $1.22 per basket).

 

A minimum of 50 baskets must be sold in each establishment to ensure the activity is feasible for the farmer. Below this number, the farm may decide to cancel the campaign, in which case you will have to reimburse the people who bought baskets, or it may decide to simply do a basket drop-off..

When you register, you will need to estimate the approximate number of baskets you think you will be able to sell during the campaign. You can give an estimate of the number of baskets sold based on the size of your establishment, the number of children participating in the campaign and the motivation of your team. This number will help us match your establishment with a farm having suitable production capacity. Please note that it is usually possible for your farmer to provide a few extra baskets in the fall, although this will depend on weather and harvesting conditions. However, we encourage you to set a realistic goal, as if you aim too high it could result in losses to the farm.

 

The quantity and variety of vegetables may differ depending on the farm and the harvest. Because it’s important for us to make sure the Schools Take Root project is a win-win partnership for both the farmer and the establishment, we allow the farmers flexibility in terms of the content of the baskets. You can expect to receive between 7 and 9 varieties of vegetables, including beets, onions, carrots, garlic, celeriac, potatoes, Jerusalem artichokes, squash, cabbage, Chinese cabbage, kohlrabi, parsnips, rutabagas, rabiole, winter radishes, kale, leeks, sweet potatoes, radicchio, spinach, broccoli and cauliflower. An opportunity to discover the season’s harvests and some lesser known vegetables! Consult our recipe cards for information on each vegetable and great ideas on how to prepare them.

 

People purchasing baskets must make their payment (in the amount of $32) to your establishment. The invoice from your farm is available directly on the online platform. Your establishment will then write a cheque to the farm (for a total of $25 x the number of baskets sold). The cheque must be given to the farmer at the time of delivery. Of the amount paid to the farm ($25), $2 is remitted to the Family Farmers Network by the farmer for the coordination of the project.

 

The promotion of the campaign (sale of baskets) takes place in the fall. Once the delivery date has been set, we recommend that you plan for a period of at least three weeks to promote the fundraising campaign and organize the sale of baskets to parents and family members. Ideally, you should allow for an extension of one week, for a campaign that will last a total of approximately one month.

 

You can either print out a paper copy of the order forms or share the link to the online form available on the order management platform with families. In either case, the person ordering a basket must provide their email address (so that they can receive a delivery reminder message) as well as their telephone number (so they can be reached on delivery day in case they forget to pick up their basket). Be sure that all the paper orders received are entered into the order management platform by the deadline, if applicable. If you only use the online form, the status of the order is updated automatically. The farm will receive the final order via the order management platform. Please note that you are responsible for ensuring the accuracy of your orders and for ensuring that you have received payment for all orders.

 

 

The baskets will be delivered by your farmer in October or November, on the date you will have determined with the Family Farmers Network, based on the availability of the farmer. Deliveries will generally take place between 3 and 6 pm, preferably in either the school gymnasium, an assembly hall or outside the school. If your delivery date is in October, the delivery could take place outdoors, if you wish. In November, evenings are usually too cold and dark to take place outdoors. In any event, please arrange for an indoor space to be available in case of rain. Ideally, the delivery point should be easily accessible (to limit the distance traveled from the truck with crates of vegetables) and large enough to allow families to move around freely.

 

 

The farmer will call you a few days before your delivery day to arrange the last details. He/she will arrive at your establishment at the predetermined time. The vegetables are distributed through a mini-market format, meaning that people who have ordered a basket bring their own bags and put their basket together by choosing vegetables from among the farmer’s different bins, based on a predetermined formula. The farmer will require the assistance of several volunteers to make sure the delivery day runs smoothly (unloading the truck and carrying crates of vegetables, welcoming parents, following up on orders, etc.). You can also get the children to help. In fact, that’s the best way to ensure a successful delivery! We encourage you to build your team of volunteers in advance to avoid being caught short-handed.

Number of baskets sold Minimum number of volunteers required Presence of the farmer
50 - 75 3 1.5 hr
75 - 125 4 2 hrs
Over 125 5 3 hrs

It is important to have more adult volunteers (able to carry crates of vegetables) for about 20 minutes when the producer arrives to help unload the truck.

Delivery day provides a unique opportunity to educate children, their families and the members of your establishment about the benefits of healthy, local and sustainable food*. That’s why we ask your farmer to be present during delivery and to answer any questions participants may have about the contents of theirs baskets. We encourage you to organize fun activities for delivery day to take advantage of the high level of interest in local and organic produce! 

  • Create a lively atmosphere: music, vegetable costumes, photo booth, etc.
  • Organize activities related to the sustainable food theme: educational activities, fun games, role playing, storytelling, etc.
  • Prepare a healthy snack for participants
  • Make decorations with the children: posters, drawings, arts and crafts related to fruits and vegetables, etc.

* Delivery of the baskets must be carried out in accordance with the public health rules in force. As a result, it may not be possible to adapt some of the suggested activities.

 

As part of the School's take Roots 2022 edition, the Network is strengthening food security through a basket donation initiative. Families will now be able to contribute to the purchase of solidarity baskets of local vegetables for vulnerable families in their region, in addition to a basket for their own family use.

To participate, families who purchase vegetable baskets from a participating establishment will simply have to check a box on the order form. It will then be up to the establishments to decide if they wish to donate the baskets to a food bank or organization or to use them as part of the food assistance measure*.

To help you organize this fundraising campaign in your establishment, we have prepared the following step-by-step guide. You can refer to it throughout the campaign. The Family Farmers Network is always available if you have any questions or require additional information. Please contact the Network with any questions or requests for your farmer as well, in order to avoid adding to the workload of your farmer (who in many cases is paired up with more than one establishment). 

Information

ecoles.enracinees@cape.coop

FAQ Écoles Enracinées

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS (2022)

Le projet Écoles enracinées propose à différents établissements (écoles, services de garde éducatifs à l'enfance et organisations communautaires) d’amasser des fonds pour leur milieu grâce à la vente de paniers de légumes locaux et biologiques fournis par une ferme du Réseau des fermier·ères de famille.

Cette activité vous permet de récolter des fonds tout en vous proposant d’encourager des productrices et des producteurs locaux en achetant des produits d’ici. Vous auriez une campagne de financement en accord avec les valeurs de votre établissement! Il s’agit aussi d’une occasion unique de faire de l’éducation sur l’alimentation saine, locale et biologique auprès des jeunes et de leur famille. 

 

Pour débuter, il est primordial que la campagne de financement obtienne l’appui de la direction de l’établissement avant l’inscription. La clé du succès de la campagne de financement Écoles enracinées est la mobilisation de votre milieu. Vous devez également identifier une personne responsable de la campagne au sein du milieu et celle-ci jouera un rôle-clé. Elle aura quatre responsabilités :

  1. Veiller à la logistique de la campagne via la plateforme en ligne;
  2. Assurer les communications entre le Réseau des fermier·ères de famille, l’établissement et les familles;
  3. Mobiliser l’école qui appuie le projet;
  4. Participer à l’évaluation de la campagne.

Une fois que vous avez obtenu l’appui de la direction et identifié la personne responsable de la campagne, vous pouvez vous inscrire à la campagne de financement Écoles enracinées sur le site du Réseau des des fermier·ères de famille.

 

De mars à juin

Contrairement à l’abonnement pour une saison aux paniers bios du Réseau des fermiers de famille, il s’agit d’une seule livraison dans le cadre de la campagne de financement Écoles enracinées. La livraison se tient généralement en automne (octobre ou novembre).

Si vous souhaitez recevoir un panier bio chaque semaine, inscrivez-vous auprès d’une ferme grâce à la carte du Réseau. 

 

Chaque panier est vendu à 32 $ et a une valeur de 25 $.

Le paiement en ligne est maintenant proposé à tous les établissements afin de faciliter la gestion de leur campagne. Ce service est offert à un coût minime et fixe*. Ainsi, chaque panier vendu permet à l'établissement de recevoir 7 $ ou 5,77 $ (s’il utilise le service de paiement en ligne), à la ferme de recevoir 23 $ et au Réseau des fermier·ères de famille de recevoir 2 $ pour administrer le programme.

*Ce coût fixe est établi par le système bancaire (2,9 % + 0,30 C$ par transaction, soit 1,22 $ par panier).

Un seuil minimum de 50 paniers vendus par milieu a été fixé pour la livraison des paniers afin que l’activité soit viable pour la ferme. Si le seuil minimum n’est pas atteint, la ferme pourrait décider d'annuler la campagne et vous devrez rembourser les personnes ayant acheté des paniers, ou elle pourrait décider de faire simplement un dépôt de paniers.

Lors de votre inscription, vous devrez estimer le nombre approximatif de paniers que vous pensez pouvoir vendre lors de la campagne. Vous pouvez donner une estimation du nombre de paniers vendus selon la taille de votre établissement, le nombre de jeunes qui seront impliqués dans la campagne et la motivation de votre équipe. Cet objectif permet de jumeler votre établissement à une ferme ayant une capacité de production appropriée. Veuillez noter qu’il est généralement possible pour votre fermière ou votre fermier de fournir quelques paniers supplémentaires à l’automne, bien que cela dépend des conditions météorologiques et des récoltes. Cependant, nous vous encourageons à vous fixer un objectif réaliste car une estimation trop élevée entraînera des pertes pour la ferme.

 

Les quantités et variétés de légumes offerts diffèrent selon les fermes et les récoltes de chacun. Il est important pour nous de faire du projet Écoles enracinées un partenariat gagnant-gagnant entre les fermes et les établissements. C’est pourquoi nous laissons de la flexibilité aux producteurs quant au contenu du panier. Vous pouvez vous attendre à recevoir entre 7 et 9 variétés parmi les suivantes : betterave, oignon, carotte, ail, céleri-rave, pomme de terre, topinambour, courge, chou, chou chinois, chou-rave, panais, rutabaga, rabiole, radis d’hiver, kale, poireau, patate douce, radicchio, épinard, brocoli, chou-fleur. C’est ainsi l’occasion de découvrir les récoltes de saison et parfois certains légumes moins courants.

 

Les paiements des acheteurs de paniers (au montant de 32 $) doivent être faits à votre établissement directement. La facture de votre ferme est disponible sur la plateforme en ligne. C’est votre établissement qui se chargera ensuite de faire le chèque à la ferme (qui correspondra à 25 $ x le nombre de paniers vendus). Celui-ci doit être remis à la ferme au moment de la livraison. Du montant remis au producteur (25 $), 2 $ est remis au Réseau par la fermière ou le fermier pour assurer la coordination du projet. 

 

La promotion de la campagne (vente des paniers) a lieu à l’automne. Une fois la date de livraison déterminée, nous vous suggérons de faire la promotion de la campagne de financement et d’organiser la vente des paniers auprès des parents et de leurs proches pendant au moins trois semaines. L’idéal est d’allouer une semaine d’extension, ce qui totalisera une campagne d’un mois environ.

Pour recueillir les commandes, imprimez les bons de commandes ou partagez aux familles le lien du formulaire en ligne disponible sur la plateforme de gestion. Dans les deux cas, il est important que les personnes qui commandent des paniers laissent leur adresse courriel pour recevoir le message de rappel pour la livraison et leur numéro de téléphone pour pouvoir les joindre le jour même de la livraison en cas d’oubli. À la date limite, assurez-vous d’entrer tous les bons de commandes papier dans la plateforme de gestion, s'il y a lieu. Si vous utilisez exclusivement le formulaire en ligne, toutes les commandes se compilent automatiquement. La ferme recevra la commande finale via la plateforme. Attention, il est donc de votre responsabilité de vous assurer que la commande transmise est exacte et que vous avez reçu l’ensemble des paiements associés.

 

La livraison des paniers par votre productrice ou votre producteur a lieu au mois d'octobre ou au mois de novembre, selon la date déterminée avec le Réseau des fermier·ères de famille et les disponibilités de la ferme. Les livraisons se déroulent généralement entre 15 h et 18 h, idéalement dans un gymnase, dans une salle polyvalente ou encore à l’extérieur. Si votre date de livraison est fixée en octobre, vous pouvez envisager de faire la livraison à l’extérieur; en novembre, les soirées sont généralement trop fraîches et sombres. Dans tous les cas, vous devez prévoir un endroit à l’intérieur en cas de pluie! L’endroit idéal doit être facile d’accès pour la productrice ou le producteur (limiter la distance parcourue avec les caisses de légumes) et suffisamment grand pour permettre aux familles de circuler librement.

 

La productrice ou le producteur vous contactera au moins trois jours ouvrables avant la livraison afin de fixer les derniers détails. Il arrive dans votre établissement à l’heure fixée préalablement avec elle ou lui. La distribution des légumes se fait en mode mini-marché, c’est-à-dire que les personnes ayant acheté un panier doivent apporter leurs sacs et constituer leur panier en prenant leurs légumes dans différents bacs proposés par la ferme selon une formule prédéterminée*. La productrice ou le producteur aura donc obligatoirement besoin de l’aide de quelques bénévoles pour mener à bien l’opération (décharge du camion et transport des bacs de légumes, accueil des familles et suivi des commandes, montage des paniers). Vous pouvez également mettre les jeunes à contribution. C’est le meilleur moyen de faire de la livraison une réussite! Nous vous suggérons de monter votre équipe de bénévoles à l’avance pour éviter d’être pris de court.

*Dans le contexte de la crise du coronavirus, le déroulement de la livraison sera adapté aux normes sanitaires en vigueur.

Nombre de paniers vendus Nombre minimum de bénévoles requis* Présence de la productrice ou du producteur
50 - 75 3 1h30
76 - 125 4 2h
Plus de 125 5 3h

 

 *Il est important de prévoir un plus grand nombre de bénévoles adultes aptes à transporter des caisses de légumes pendant une vingtaine de minutes à l’arrivée de la productrice ou du producteur pour décharger le camion.

Ce moment est une opportunité unique d’éducation et de sensibilisation à l’alimentation saine, locale et durable auprès des jeunes, de leurs familles et des membres de votre établissement engagés dans le projet. C’est d’ailleurs pourquoi nous demandons à la productrice ou au producteur d’être présent·e et de répondre aux questions des participants sur le contenu des paniers. Nous vous encourageons à organiser des activités en lien avec la livraison, car l’intérêt pour les aliments bio et locaux est à son comble lors de cette journée!

  • Mettre de l’ambiance : musique, déguisements de légumes, photomaton, etc.
  • Créer des animations sur l’alimentation responsable : activités éducatives, jeux créatifs, jeux de rôles, contes animés, etc.
  • Cuisiner une collation santé pour l’accueil des participants.
  • Décorer avec les enfants : affiches, dessins, bricolages sur les fruits et nos légumes.

En 2021, Écoles enracinées a évolué pour renforcer la sécurité alimentaire des familles vulnérables grâce à une initiative de dons de paniers. Si l'école accepte de participer, les familles pourront contribuer à l'achat d’un panier de légumes locaux et bio destinés à des familles dans le besoin en plus d’un panier pour leur usage familial, en cochant simplement une case dans le formulaire de commande.

Le jour de la livraison des paniers aux familles, la ferme apportera les paniers solidaires et l'établissement sera en charge de les distribuer à des familles de son milieu, à une banque alimentaire ou encore à un organisme de quartier, selon son choix. 

Pour vous accompagner pas à pas dans la réalisation de cette campagne de financement, vous pourrez vous référer tout au long de la campagne à la marche à suivre détaillée. Nous restons disponibles pour toute question ou information supplémentaire. Pour faciliter la coordination de la campagne, nous vous demandons de contacter le Réseau des fermier·ères de famille pour vos différentes demandes concernant la ferme. Cette consigne vise à ne pas ajouter une charge de travail supplémentaire à votre productrice ou votre producteur qui est souvent associé.e à plusieurs établissements. 

Informations

ecoles.enracinees@cape.coop